Latest rights news

2016
Bologna and London Book Fairs are fast approaching and Elinor and Barry are busy preparing a wide collection of stories, costumes and mysterious pets for your entertainment …

We are in Hall 25, A141 at Bologna (on the Scholastic stand) and IDII at London Book Fair (also on the Scholastic stand).

WHO LET THE GODS OUT?
The first of an epic middle-grade four-book series by Maz Evans. When a shooting star crashes to earth it changes young carer Elliot’s life forever. The star is Virgo – a teen Zodiac goddess on a mission. When the pair accidentally unleash the wicked death daemon Thanatos, they turn to the old Olympian gods for help. But after centuries of cushy retirement on Earth, are Zeus and his crew up to the task? Elliot Hooper has let the gods out. And now he’s in for a blast from the past … Hilarious and heartfelt, Who Let the Gods Out? is the debut of a major new comic talent to the world of children’s fiction. We have world rights excluding film. The manuscript is available – and we have sold it so far to Germany and the USA.

THE WHITE TOWER
From the worldwide bestselling author of The Wolf Princess, alchemy meets dreamy reality in this rich, magical realist adventure for ages 10+. Livy is stunned when she is offered a place at Temple College, a prestigious school for the very brightest – she’s never been anything special. But as she adjusts to life at Temple, Livy’s drawn to the roof of the school. Here, amongst the towering stone sentinels, she dreams she can step into the sky – and her dreams are more real than she thinks … We have world rights and the manuscript will be available in April.

THE APPRENTICE WITCH 
The Apprentice Witch An enchanting middle grade debut for ages 8+. Accident-prone Arianwyn fluffs her witch’s assessment. Instead of qualifying as a fully-fledged witch, she’s declared an apprentice and sent to remote Lull in disgrace. Then her arch-enemy, mean girl Gimma, arrives on holiday determined to make her life a misery. But as a mysterious darkness begins to haunt her spells, Arianwyn realises there’s much more than her pride at stake … Filled with thrills, charm, pesky magical conundrums, outlandish creatures and an enchanted forest, our apprentice witch retains her warm soul and earthy wisdom throughout. We have world rights. The manuscript is available – and we have sold it so far to France, Germany and USA. Visit the book page for full rights information.

THE SECRET OF NIGHTINGALE WOOD
This evocative novel for ages 10+ is set in 1919. Henry moves to the countryside with her family, scarred by her brother’s untimely death. Her only friends are characters from her favourite books – until, one day, she wanders into the woods and meets Moth, a striking witch-like woman dealing with her own loss. Together they form a bond that could help Henry save her family and overcome her grief. Reminiscent of Michelle Magorian’s Goodnight Mister Tom with a touch of The Secret Garden, this is a beautiful and wistful debut with a truly classic feel. We have world rights and the manuscript will be available in April.

ALICE JONES: THE IMPOSSIBLE CLUE
Alice JonesThis is the beginning of a new middle grade series about a maths geek, Alice Jones, who has already solved a mystery or two. When she is persuaded by her wannabe friend Sammy to investigate a disappearing scientist she is soon entangled in her trickiest case yet. Is invisibility really to blame for his vanishing? Or is something more sinister afoot?

‘Nancy Drew for a new generation!’ KATHERINE WOODFINE

We have world rights and have sold it to Germany and the USA. The first book is available – visit the book page for full rights information. The sequel, ALICE JONES: THE GHOST LIGHT, is coming soon.

BLACK POWDER
Black Powder AW 2A rip-roaring, beautifully written life-and-death quest set in a perilous seventeenth-century England, packed with atmosphere and adventure. Aimed at ages 10+, the story follows twelve-year-old Tom who must save his father from hanging. He falls in with a mysterious stranger, the Falcon, who promises to help – but can he be trusted? Soon, Tom faces a terrible mission: secure his father’s release and stop the assassination of the king … We have world rights and the manuscript will be available in April.

ROSE IN THE BLITZ
Rose in the Blitz websiteRose struggles with her widowed mother’s impending remarriage, but finds meaning in the past of an elderly relative, her Great-Aunt Cosy. A heartfelt timeslip story for ages 10+, following Rose into a time of both desperation and hope. We have world rights and the manuscript will be available in April.


BEETLE BOY

Beetle Boy websiteDarkus is miserable. His dad has disappeared, and now he is living next door to the most disgusting neighbours ever.A giant beetle called Baxter comes to his rescue. But can the two solve the mystery of his dad’s disappearance, especially when links emerge to cruel Lucretia Cutter and her penchant for beetle jewellery? A coffee-mug mountain, home to a million insects, could provide the answer – if Darkus and Baxter are brave enough to find it … The first book in this Dahl-esque trilogy came out in UK in March and became an instant bestseller. We’ve sold rights to 24 countries so far. Visit the book page for full rights information.

NEVER EVERS
Never Evers websiteFor all those looking for a little feel-good sparkle as the year grows older, we have Never Evers – a teen comedy full of first kisses, dorm-room gossip and friendships by Tom Ellen and Lucy Ivison, the authors of the hilarious YA prize shortlisted Lobsters. The manuscript is available – visit the book page for full rights info.


LYDIA: THE WILD GIRL OF PRIDE & PREJUDICE

Lydia websiteTaking Frankfurt by storm, we have Lydia: The Wild Girl of Pride & Prejudice – a spirited, fresh reimagining of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice by the award-winning Natasha Farrant. The book is told from the perspective of the youngest and wildest Bennet sister, Lydia – a truly modern girl. A must-read for all teenagers looking for wise and witty answers to life’s big questions. The manuscript will be available for reading in January 2016.

THE GREAT CHOCOPLOT
Great Chocoplot For those looking for scary and funny books, try The Great Chocoplot by Chris Callaghan. What would happen if all chocolate disappeared forever?! An exciting adventure story for a 7+ audience from a debut author with a fantastic and original comic voice, ending with a life-affirming conclusion. The manuscript is now available – visit the book page for full rights info.


THE GIRL OF INK & STARS

Girl of Ink and Stars If you are seeking beauty, magical realism and poetry you must read the outstanding debut The Girl of Ink & Stars, a beautifully written and lyrical story of friendship, discovery, myths and magic by award-winning poet Kiran Millwood Hargrave. This 10+ adventure is perfect for fans of Philip Pullman, Frances Hardinge or Katherine Rundell. The manuscript is available – visit the book page for full rights information.

THE HALLOWEEDS
For those of you with a taste for all things strange and quirky, The Halloweeds is an atmospheric, scary and funny middle-grade mystery about a boy who discovers an intriguing family secret. Veronica Cossanteli is the author of the acclaimed The Extincts, which sold in 11 territories and has been optioned for the big screen. The manuscript is available to read.

THE SECRET COOKING CLUB
Secret Cooking Club websiteIf you’re after a sweet treat, The Secret Cooking Club is a wonderfully warm debut from the latest Times/Chicken House Children’s Fiction Competition winner Laurel Remington. This touching story of friendship and family about a girl who discovers the secret ingredient to happiness through cooking is sure to charm you with its cosy atmosphere. The manuscript is available to read.


BOY X

Boy XAnd for thrill-seekers we have a powerful action-packed middle-grade adventure: Boy X by Dan Smith, the bestselling author of Big Game. Boy X is the start of a real-life survival series, and an edge-of-your-seat thriller set on a jungle island. Think Bear Grylls meets Mission Impossible … The manuscript is available – visit the book page for full rights info.


LIFERS

LIFERS websiteAnd finally, Martin Griffin’s YA debut, Lifers, offers all the breakneck excitement and mystery of The Maze Runner against a gritty urban backdrop. This atmospheric noir thriller is set in a near-future Manchester where friendships are forged, promises broken and lives lost in a reckless battle for freedom, revenge and revolution. The manuscript is available to read – visit the book page for full rights info.

FOR MORE INFO ...
Contact Elinor Bagenal on elinor@chickenhousebooks.com.