Latest rights news

2016
Frankfurt bookfair is over and we are already planning our visit to the 2017 London and Bologna bookfairs …

Please contact me at elinor@chickenhousebooks.com if you would like any further information about the below new titles. The recent rights guide is ready for you to download.

THE FANDOM 
A fast-paced, genre-flipping YA fantasy adventure which finds fans stuck in the world of their favourite franchise. For real. Anna Day is a fabulous new voice in YA and explores an outrageously clever story-within-a-story concept; perfect for anyone who has ever imagined themselves in their favourite fantasy world. Who would you be? The manuscript will be available after Frankfurt and we have world rights, excluding film.

THE ISLAND AT THE END OF EVERYTHING
Culion is a leper colony, inhabited by the unclean and the impure – and by Ami, whose mother is infected, and whose island home contains all she knows and loves. But the arrival of malicious government official Mr Zamora changes her world forever: islanders untouched by sickness are forced to leave. Banished across the sea, she’s desperate to return before her mother’s death. She finds a strange and fragile hope in a colony of butterflies. Can they lead her home before it’s too late? Kiran’s much-acclaimed debut novel The Girl of Ink & Stars has sold over 30,000 copies in the UK alone. The manuscript will be available after Frankfurt and we have world rights, excluding film.

THE SKY STEALERS 
Set in eighteenth-century Paris and Versailles, our story follows plucky street urchin Mouse as she embarks on a remarkable quest to discover the secret of flight. Acclaimed author Emma Carroll explores themes of friendship, imagination and achieving the impossible – an uplifting story perfect for fans of Rooftoppers. The manuscript will be available after Frankfurt and we have world rights, excluding film.

MOONDUST
MoondustAn edge-of-your-seat sci-fi thriller debut with strong female appeal. Gemma Fowler combines an authentic YA contemporary voice with high-concept but accessible science fiction. Moondust explores themes involving the environment and energy, as well as teen issues such as friends, romance and challenging adult authority. Rights developed in association with Altitude Film. The manuscript will be available after Frankfurt and we have world rights, excluding film.

THE BOY WHO WENT MAGIC 
A rip-roaring fantasy adventure of friendship, courage and discovery from a young debut talent in middle-grade fiction; perfect for fans of Eoin Colfer. Our protagonist Bert hurtles from a humdrum, ordinary life into an astonishing world of adventure, danger, sky-pirates and – of course – magic! The manuscript will be available after Frankfurt and we have world rights, excluding film.

WHO LET THE GODS OUT?
Who Let the Gods Out NEWThe first of an epic middle-grade four-book series by Maz Evans. When a shooting star crashes to earth it changes young carer Elliot’s life forever. The star is Virgo – a teen Zodiac goddess on a mission. When the pair accidentally unleash the wicked death daemon Thanatos, they turn to the old Olympian gods for help. But after centuries of cushy retirement on Earth, are Zeus and his crew up to the task? Elliot Hooper has let the gods out. And now he’s in for a blast from the past … Hilarious and heartfelt, Who Let the Gods Out? is the debut of a major new comic talent to the world of children’s fiction. We have world rights excluding film. The manuscript is available – visit the book page for more info.

THE WHITE TOWER
WhiteTower websiteFrom the worldwide bestselling author of The Wolf Princess, alchemy meets dreamy reality in this rich, magical realist adventure for ages 10+. Livy is stunned when she is offered a place at Temple College, a prestigious school for the very brightest – she’s never been anything special. But as she adjusts to life at Temple, Livy’s drawn to the roof of the school. Here, amongst the towering stone sentinels, she dreams she can step into the sky – and her dreams are more real than she thinks … We have world rights and the manuscript is now available. Visit the book page for more information.

THE APPRENTICE WITCH 
The Apprentice Witch An enchanting middle grade debut for ages 8+. Accident-prone Arianwyn fluffs her witch’s assessment. Instead of qualifying as a fully-fledged witch, she’s declared an apprentice and sent to remote Lull in disgrace. Then her arch-enemy, mean girl Gimma, arrives on holiday determined to make her life a misery. But as a mysterious darkness begins to haunt her spells, Arianwyn realises there’s much more than her pride at stake … Filled with thrills, charm, pesky magical conundrums, outlandish creatures and an enchanted forest, our apprentice witch retains her warm soul and earthy wisdom throughout. We have world rights. The manuscript is available – visit the book page for more information. Visit the book page for full rights information.

THE SECRET OF NIGHTINGALE WOOD
Secret of Nightingale Wood websiteThis evocative novel for ages 10+ is set in 1919. Henry moves to the countryside with her family, scarred by her brother’s untimely death. Her only friends are characters from her favourite books – until, one day, she wanders into the woods and meets Moth, a striking witch-like woman dealing with her own loss. Together they form a bond that could help Henry save her family and overcome her grief. Reminiscent of Michelle Magorian’s Goodnight Mister Tom with a touch of The Secret Garden, this is a beautiful and wistful debut with a truly classic feel. We have world rights and the manuscript is available – visit the book page for full rights info.


BEETLE BOY

Beetle Boy websiteDarkus is miserable. His dad has disappeared, and now he is living next door to the most disgusting neighbours ever.A giant beetle called Baxter comes to his rescue. But can the two solve the mystery of his dad’s disappearance, especially when links emerge to cruel Lucretia Cutter and her penchant for beetle jewellery? A coffee-mug mountain, home to a million insects, could provide the answer – if Darkus and Baxter are brave enough to find it … The first book in this Dahl-esque trilogy came out in UK in March and became an instant bestseller. We’ve sold rights to 24 countries so far. Visit the book page for full rights information.


LYDIA: THE WILD GIRL OF PRIDE & PREJUDICE

Lydia websiteTaking Frankfurt by storm, we have Lydia: The Wild Girl of Pride & Prejudice – a spirited, fresh reimagining of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice by the award-winning Natasha Farrant. The book is told from the perspective of the youngest and wildest Bennet sister, Lydia – a truly modern girl. A must-read for all teenagers looking for wise and witty answers to life’s big questions. The manuscript is now available and full rights info can be found on the book page.


THE GIRL OF INK & STARS

Girl of Ink and Stars If you are seeking beauty, magical realism and poetry you must read the outstanding debut The Girl of Ink & Stars, a beautifully written and lyrical story of friendship, discovery, myths and magic by award-winning poet Kiran Millwood Hargrave. This 10+ adventure is perfect for fans of Philip Pullman, Frances Hardinge or Katherine Rundell. The manuscript is available – visit the book page for full rights information.


THE SECRET COOKING CLUB

Secret Cooking Club websiteIf you’re after a sweet treat, The Secret Cooking Club is a wonderfully warm debut from the latest Times/Chicken House Children’s Fiction Competition winner Laurel Remington. This touching story of friendship and family about a girl who discovers the secret ingredient to happiness through cooking is sure to charm you with its cosy atmosphere. The manuscript is available to read.


FOR MORE INFO ...

Contact Elinor Bagenal on elinor@chickenhousebooks.com.