Latest rights news

2015
Barry Elinor Austen


Frankfurt 2015 is over and Barry and Elinor had an incredible time wearing a variety of different costumes to present a very memorable collection of new titles …




NEVER EVERS
Never Evers websiteFor all those looking for a little feel-good sparkle as the year grows older, we have Never Evers – a teen comedy full of first kisses, dorm-room gossip and friendships by Tom Ellen and Lucy Ivison, the authors of the hilarious YA prize shortlisted Lobsters. The manuscript is available – visit the book page for full rights info.


LYDIA: THE BAD BENNET GIRL

Taking Frankfurt by storm, we have Lydia: The Bad Bennet Girl – a spirited, fresh reimagining of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice by the award-winning Natasha Farrant. The book is told from the perspective of the youngest and wildest Bennet sister, Lydia – a truly modern girl. A must-read for all teenagers looking for wise and witty answers to life’s big questions. The manuscript will be available for reading in January 2016.

THE GREAT CHOCOPLOT
Great Chocoplot For those looking for scary and funny books, try The Great Chocoplot by Chris Callaghan. What would happen if all chocolate disappeared forever?! An exciting adventure story for a 7+ audience from a debut author with a fantastic and original comic voice, ending with a life-affirming conclusion. The manuscript is now available – visit the book page for full rights info.

THE GIRL OF INK AND STARS
Girl of Ink and Stars If you are seeking beauty, magical realism and poetry you must read the outstanding debut The Girl of Ink and Stars, a beautifully written and lyrical story of friendship, discovery, myths and magic by award-winning poet Kiran Millwood Hargrave. This 10+ adventure is perfect for fans of Philip Pullman, Frances Hardinge or Katherine Rundell. The manuscript is available – visit the book page for full rights information.

THE BONE GARDEN
For those of you with a taste for all things strange and quirky, The Bone Garden is an atmospheric, scary and funny middle-grade mystery about a boy who discovers an intriguing family secret. Veronica Cossanteli is the author of the acclaimed The Extincts, which sold in 11 territories and has been optioned for the big screen. The manuscript is available to read.

THE SECRET COOKING CLUB
If you’re after a sweet treat, The Secret Cooking Club is a wonderfully warm debut from the latest Times/Chicken House Children’s Fiction Competition winner Laurel Remington. This touching story of friendship and family about a girl who discovers the secret ingredient to happiness through cooking is sure to charm you with its cosy atmosphere. The manuscript is available to read.

BOY X
Boy XAnd for thrill-seekers we have a powerful action-packed middle-grade adventure: Boy X by Dan Smith, the bestselling author of Big Game. Boy X is the start of a real-life survival series, and an edge-of-your-set thriller set on a jungle island. Think Bear Grylls meets Mission Impossible … The manuscript is available – visit the book page for full rights info.


LIFERS

LIFERS websiteAnd finally, Martin Griffin’s YA debut, Lifers, offers all the breakneck excitement and mystery of The Maze Runner against a gritty urban backdrop. This atmospheric noir thriller is set in a near-future Manchester where friendships are forged, promises broken and lives lost in a reckless battle for freedom, revenge and revolution. The manuscript is available to read – visit the book page for full rights info.

FOR MORE INFO ...
Contact Elinor Bagenal on elinor@chickenhousebooks.com.